Swansea Conservatives named Official Opposition

Following a doubling in numbers of County Councillors in the City & County of Swansea, the Conservative Party are now the Official Opposition.

Voters from across Swansea went to the polls on Thursday 4th May 2017 to decide who will represent them in County Hall.

Following a long night, that saw the count finish at around 7am on Friday morning, Swansea Conservatives doubled the number of councillors they have.

Swansea Conservatives now have eight County Councillors from across the city standing up for local residents and holding the Labour-run administration to account.

Liberal Democrats saw their numbers fall to seven, while Plaid Cymru and UKIP failed to see a single one of their candidates elected.

Your Welsh Conservative team in Swansea is now:

Cllr Linda Tyler-Lloyd: Mayals ward

Cllr David Helliwell: Sketty ward

Cllr Steve Gallagher: Sketty ward

Cllr Paxton Hood-Williams: Fairwood ward

Cllr Myles Langstone: Oystermouth ward

Cllr Will Thomas: Newton ward

Cllr Brigitte Rowlands: Mawr ward

Cllr Lyndon Jones: Bishopston ward

Swansea Conservatives would like to say a big thank you to Miles Thomas who has served as the Councillor for Newton ward for the past two terms for his service and dedication to his constituents.

Across Swansea, residents now face a clear choice, between the Conservatives and Theresa May or Jeremy Corbyn's Labour Party.